UTSW Medical Student Group Named Texas Medical Association Chapter of the Year: Newsroom

Tanooha Veeramachaneni

DALLAS – June 10, 2022 – A group of students from UT Southwestern Medical School have been named the 2022 Chapter of the Year by the Medical Student Section of the Texas Medical Association.

The chapter was honored for its work on several community health initiatives. Students joined Brother Bill’s Helping Hand organization in Dallas to combat vaccine hesitancy and misunderstanding by developing and coordinating an immunization clinic and vaccine training to reach patients in multiple languages . They also launched the Diabetes Self-Management Program, a free clinic that helps diabetic patients in underserved Dallas communities learn how to control their blood sugar levels and make healthy lifestyle changes. Both programs were funded by grants from the Texas Medical Association (TMA).

“During a time when COVID-19 has forced many organizations to downsize, our chapter has fought hard to continue to grow and contribute to meaningful work,” said Tanooha Veeramachaneni, a second-year medical student from the UTSW who named the chapter for the honor. Ms. Veeramachaneni is a past President of the Medical Student Section of UTSW TMA and current Vice President of the Medical Student Section of the Texas Medical Association.

The chapter also reached out to the Dallas County Medical Society to initiate organized student involvement in its councils, committees, and councils; and drafted resolutions to propose new TMA policy, such as encouraging more equitable access to medications for opioid use disorder, modifying an existing policy involving equal pay for equal work, increasing the autonomy of adolescents with childhood cancer and protecting a physician’s ability to provide care in dynamic legal environments. Each of these resolutions was either passed or sent back to the TMA for consideration.

“We are extremely proud to have our student chapter receive this award, which reflects the tremendous efforts our students have made to make positive changes in the health of our community and their passion for health advocacy,” said Angela Mihalic, MD, Professor of Pediatrics, Dean of Medical Students, Associate Dean of Student Affairs, and Emeritus Professor at UTSW.

The award was started in 1998 and recognizes the chapter that excels in upholding the goals and policies of the Medical Student Section for a Better Texas. It recognizes leadership, dedication and service to the TMA and the American Medical Association.

UT Southwestern Medical School is ranked in the top 25 for research and top 20 for primary care among 192 medical schools nationwide, according to US News and World Report2023 ranking of the best doctoral schools.

About UT Southwestern Medical Center

UT Southwestern, one of the nation’s leading academic medical centers, integrates pioneering biomedical research with exceptional clinical care and education. The institution’s faculty has received six Nobel Prizes and includes 26 members of the National Academy of Sciences, 17 members of the National Academy of Medicine, and 14 researchers from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Full-time faculty of more than 2,900 are responsible for groundbreaking medical advances and committed to rapidly translating scientific research into new clinical treatments. UT Southwestern physicians provide care in more than 80 specialties to more than 100,000 inpatients, more than 360,000 emergency room cases, and oversee nearly 4 million outpatient visits annually.

Leave a Comment