Medical Center Faculty, Staff Receive Recognitions

JACKSON, Miss. (WJTV) – Dr. Juanyce Taylor, chief of the Medical Center’s Office of Diversity and Inclusion, is among 21 senior healthcare leaders chosen to join the sixth class of the Aspen Institute Health Innovators Fellowship and the program’s healthcare entrepreneur network. and innovators from across the United States.

The two-year fellowship for Taylor and the leadership group “will strengthen their leadership and challenge them to develop new approaches to improve the health and well-being of Americans,” the institute said in a press release.

Fellows work across the healthcare ecosystem, with expertise ranging from mental health and medicine to healthcare technology and venture capital, according to the Institute. They represent businesses, nonprofits, and government organizations.

Taylor was appointed Director of Diversity and Inclusion in 2016 to accelerate the integration of diversity and inclusive practices into the medical center’s mission areas and workforce. Taylor also leads several institutional committees such as the Vice Chancellor’s Council on Diversity and Inclusion, the Institutional Climate Committee, and the Health Care Disparities Council.

Previous roles at UMMC include Assistant Dean for Research and Innovation and Chair of the Department of Health Sciences in the School of Health Related Professions, and Director of Assessment and Curriculum diversity.

“We are thrilled to welcome this group of diverse, accomplished, and forward-thinking individuals to the Aspen Institute’s Health Innovators Fellowship and the Aspen Global Leadership Network,” said Tanya Harris, Executive Director of the Health Innovators Fellowship, in the press release. “In today’s health care climate, bringing together thought leaders to address the health care needs of vulnerable populations is imperative. Only through collaboration and meaningful dialogue can we leverage our collective efforts to amplify impact.

National League of Nursing to Induct Sanford, Northington as Scholars

The National League for Nursing will induct Dr. Julie Sanford, Dean of the School of Nursing at the University of Mississippi Medical Center, and Dr. LaDonna Northington, who recently retired as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, as members of the Class of 2022. at the Academy of Nursing. They are among 20 nationally nominated for the honor.

An induction ceremony is scheduled for September 30 at the NLN Education Summit.

With the addition of the 2022 Scholars, the academy’s membership will total 322 leading nurse educators who teach in a range of programs across the higher education spectrum. They are affiliated with leading teaching hospitals, academic institutions, and other organizations committed to advancing the quality of health care in the United States and around the world.

NLN President and CEO Dr. Beverly Malone congratulated the winners.

“With growing threats to global health and the social determinants of health creating ever greater barriers to equity in health care, we commend these eminent nurse educator-scholars for their role in supporting and facilitating of excellence in nursing education and their role as role models, students and peer educators,” she said.

MORA Honors UMMC at Annual Spero Awards

The Mississippi Organ Recovery Agency honored members of the University of Mississippi Medical Center Care Team at its 2022 Spero Awards.

The Children’s of Mississippi Intensive Care Unit won “Most Supportive Care Team” and Emily Wade, a registered nurse on the unit, won Champion Nurse of the Year.

Dr. Joseph Doherty, assistant professor of emergency medicine at UMMC, was honored as champion physician of the year.

Meaning “hope” in Latin, the Spero Awards reflect the hope made possible through organ donation.


Leave a Comment